top of page

Well, we're committed now!

One of my nearest and dearest often uses the phrase "well, we're committed now" whenever I start to question the decision we are currently in the middle of. There were many times during the start up phase of the hostel where I sat there thinking, what in the world have I gotten myself into...? At one point during the remodel I was sitting at the top of the stairs with blistered hands, and a whole lot of work left in front of me. I found my breaking point after about 6 months of hard remodel day in and day out. For the first time since the "hostel conception" I thought to myself -I can't- and I cried...hard. That episode was intense but also pretty short lived, thank goodness, and I turned it around to envisioning myself a month, three months, a year from that date. I knew that at some point I would be standing in that same spot with a completely renewed perspective. Just a few weeks ago, in the middle of our busiest and most successful month yet as an established business, I sat in that same spot to remind myself of that crucial point in the Tony's Place journey. I was knee deep in doubt, exhaustion, and disbelief that I had worked so hard and yet had so much more to do. I may not have had the phrase in my back pocket at that point in time, but now I know the small voice that kept me going was in fact saying "well, we're committed now!" Starting the hostel, working through the hurdles, and finding myself on the other side are some of the best decisions I have made in my 27 years of life. I now look forward to Mondays, to new seasons with new guests, new networking and marketing opportunities, and new visions for my business. What once started as a silly little "what if" has now turned into a career that's hard to even call a "job". The enjoyment I have in this walk of life is beyond what I could have imagined. Tony's Place has received overwhelmingly positive reviews, has already seen return customers, and continually proves that the backpacker hostel has a place and purpose in little Boise Idaho. I am excited to watch it grow, and to welcome travellers near and far to a place built on hard work, love, passion, and the commitment to push forward especially when times get tough.

Some of our first Tony's Place guests


bottom of page